Quivive

Testimonials

Looking for self-catering on Arran, take a look at Quivive

Trip Advisor Review:
“Let’s go to Arran” we said when we decided at the New Year to have a few days away. Quivive came up on a search and so pleased that Roger accepted our booking at such VERY short notice. The cottage was lovely, so spacious, so spotlessly clean and just made you feel so at home. The location is ideal as you are just a short drive from the ferry and a good base for all that is on the island and the views from the cottage are lovely. Great choice for eating out on Arran and our favourite was Auchrannie Restaurant, eighteen69, Scottish tapas on offer and a lovely welcome from staff and they explain how the menu works. Great service, loved it. Would love to stay at Quivive again and bring family to fill all those lovely rooms! Would like to add a wee note to say to book ferry before you travel as we didn’t as thought it would be quiet at this time of the year and we didn’t get on the ferry! Luckily then managed to book the last place on the next one. We then made sure we booked for our sail back. Many thanks to Roger who made contact by phone to make sure we were happy with everything in the cottage etc. Very much appreciated.”
David S.
January 2019

Luxury home in peaceful surroundings with stunning views

Trip Advisor Review:
Two minutes drive from centre of Brodick, this spacious, well appointed and tastefully furnished home is in the ideal location to base your stay on Arran. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and the kitchen is very well equipped. Two large sofas provide ample seating for relaxation or viewing the 60 inch HD TV. Being in such a central position on the island means that restaurants, bars and shops and the many beaches and attractions for children are all within easy distance of the property. We had a wonderful time – enjoying living in Quivive just as much as going out visiting all our favourite places every day. We’re returning for a second stay at this great property later this year.
Jean and Jim K.
July 2018

Beats anywhere we’ve stayed on Arran

Our family have been self-catering annually on Arran since the mid ’80s and Quivive beats anything for its beautiful position, internal standard and thoughtful attention to detail.  The garden was a delight for our grandchildren whether feeding the birds or playing hide and seek. Thank you both of you.
Jean and Vince C
June 2018

Wonderful cottage on a wonderful island

Trip Advisor Review:
We stayed here with friends and I hadn’t even made it through the door into the cottage before deciding this was going to be perfect. You’ve got a wonderful view of Goatfell in one direction and Brodick bay laid out below you. The cottage has everything a group could want – comfortable beds, clean smart bathrooms, a cosy lounge, a very well equipped kitchen and a conservatory with comfortable chairs to sit and enjoy those stunning views. Admittedly we got a week of good weather but Arran has a lot to offer whatever the conditions. My partner and I love walking and there’s everything from strong hiking on Corbett’s, to shorter more relaxed walking in beautiful glens, around lochs and along cliff tops and beaches. Our friends are passionate about wildlife and as previous visitors to Arran were able to show us good places to see otters, seals, deer, and a variety of birds. There are a number of places to eat out and get a good meal but most nights it was easier to eat in and make use of the excellent facilities at the cottage. We had an amazing week and it was always a joy to return to Quivive at the end of the day for a well earned drink and the opportunity to sit in front of the log burner reviewing the day’s adventures. Both Quivive and Arran are highly recommended.
Patrick O.
June 2018

Excellent peaceful holiday venue

Trip Advisor Review:
Just 5 minutes from the ferry terminal, Quivive has to be one of the most hidden gems in Arran for a peaceful countryside break or use as a base to have whilst walking the nearby hills and coastal routes. The bedrooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and clean. The Kitchen and utility room are superbly equipped. My wife and I took my elderly parents to this holiday home for a week. Whilst it may not be suitable to cater those with mobility issues, there is plenty of room and distractions to ensure that even on cold wet days you can enjoy the warm log fire whilst watching satellite TV, Netflix, reading a book or playing board games or DVDs supplied by the owner. The living room is full of light. The connecting conservatory with its comfortable recliner seats and views just lifts your spirits and provides a quiet reflective space to let you catch your breath. Thank you for the wine, cheese and oatcakes awaiting us on our arrival. Lovely touch. If life is all go and work hectic, treat yourself. When you get a chance get yourself to Scotland take a short trip across the Fifth of Clyde to Arran and Quivive. I did and was not disappointed.
Raymond R
May 2018

Fantastic Base

Trip Advisor Review:
“Quivive is an excellent base for an Arran holiday. It is in a quiet location with spectacular views to the east and north. The accommodation itself is spacious, well equipped and of a very high standard. We hired the cottage for a family weekend and were really comfortable there. Even the two grandchildren loved the house and the snow covered garden. The conservatory, in particular, would be a great place to relax on a warm summer’s day.”
Evelyn and Ian B
February 2018

Interior took our breath away

“We rented Quivive for a family weekend from 9th to 12 February.  When we arrived, we were really impressed with the house location and the views over Brodick Bay and also to the mountains.  The interior took our breath away as well.  The accommodation was of such a high standard, with plenty of room for our party of eight.  It was immaculately clean and beautifully appointed.  It was well equipped and there was even a welcome bottle of wine, Arran cheese and Arran crackers.  There were also board games, dvds and books available for guests.

We had a lovely break and the house played a big part in making the weekend so memorable.  We have no hesitation in recommending Quivive as a holiday home.  It is an ideal base in a peaceful location, yet handy for Brodick or Lamlash.”

Evelyn and Ian B
February 2018

Stunning Accommodation

Trip Advisor Review:
“This has to be the best self catering accommodation anywhere! A group of four couples spent a long weekend in Quivive, the web site looked amazing but you really have to visit to see how wonderful it is. Living , sleeping, eating, cooking and garden areas are faultless despite 8 adults staying at Quivive we never felt crowded. Every little detail was thought of and the views were breathtaking. Access to amenities on the island is good and there are some easy and not so easy walks right on the doorstep. We would recommend Quivive to anyone, couples, families and friends. We all hope to visit again. Many thanks for this wonderful holiday.”
Shelagh R
September 2017

Had the great fortune to spend a week at Quivive

Trip Advisor Review:
“We (two adults, two small children) recently had the great fortune to spend a week at Quivive Cottage with family. The house is excellently equipped, optimally located and, it goes almost without saying, has breathtaking views of both Goat fell and the sea. The spacious garden provided ample opportunity for our two small children to play, with the conservatory also providing the adults with a chance to put their feet up and enjoy the fantastic scenery. We had high hopes for our stay and we most certainly were not disappointed. Were all of this not enough, our dealings with Roger – who went beyond the call of ordinary duty in terms of helpfulness (even offering to return forgotten children’s toys and socks to Germany) – were a complete pleasure. We certainly hope to return and can recommend Quivive Cottage unreservedly.”
William M
August 2017

A fabulous house in fabulous Arran

Trip Advisor Review:
“We have just had a great week staying on Arran at Quivive Cottage. The house was just perfect for the three generations of our family; cosy but spacious, very well-equipped with a high standard of accommodation and the attractive garden provided fantastic views of the hills, sea and surrounding countryside.  The Isle of Arran is truly beautiful- whatever the weather! We felt at home as soon as we arrived at the house and we were just sorry we had to leave!”
Julia W
June 2017